Build Your Own Life…..

As its been a while since I’ve written anything, a lots been going on. Amongst the hustle and bustle of the holiday, I’ve been looking around at the many different relationship that are strangely connected. Of course, that’s just my observation. Lol. Even so, with  observing, I listened in on how women in relationships, will let go of a perfectly good relationship because of the lack of approval from their girl friends. Then there’s the women who can’t get into a good relationship for fear of losing a good (single) friend. (Speaking sarcastically) well, you know if they’re alone, and you’re not available to talk, they’ll think you’re acting different. Is there a point in your life that you decide what you will and will not let stand in the way of your happiness?

Just before the holidays set in, one of my best friends’ Kerry, who’d become very secluded in her relationship, lost that battle and needed the love and warmt of her BF. Of course, I was right there to help her find solice. So as the holidays set in, Kerry decided she’d come visit and I was very excited to have her come down,but as her visit set in, I noticed with every move or ringing of my phone,she was there to see who it was or where I was going. I felt like high school all over again. It was more like a controlled relationship versus a friendship. Even a close associate we’d visited the night before noticed it. I was glad to know it wasn’t just me. Immediately, I thought some things have to change,today!

I understand wanting to know everything about your female friends and their lifes journey,maybe even wanting to advise them on how to better their lives,but at some point you’ve got to let go and be just that,a friend. Which doesn’t mean making them conform to your beliefs or your thoughts of how life should be. Thats why we are all uniquely made. To stand out and apart from others. So, if your girlfriends trying to build a life of her own,it doesn’t mean that she’s ditching you because she’s in a relationship,nor is it because she thinks she’s better. Its because shes ,as you should be,trying to build a lifetime of happiness that no one can give her,not even you!  Remember,one day you’ll be in her shoes;-)……

Jaunette Mays
Freelance Writer
B.A. Journalism

Leave a comment